“Catalyst user is not Synced” Message

by Terry Coates | Jun 17, 2024 | Catalyst, EPIC Account Insights | 0 comments

There is a new error message in town. You may have noticed it when visiting the Manage Users page from the Manage Your Account menu in EPIC. It's bright red and seems important!

Is it serious? What does it mean? How do I fix it?

Great questions, so let's demystify this message.

Is it serious?

Nope! Despite its red, boldface appearance, it’s not even a problem... until you want to use Catalyst Administration Tools. Syncing your EPIC Account to your Catalyst Account will enable the Administration tool in Catalyst.

Learn more about the Catalyst Administration tool.

What does “Catalyst user is not Synced” mean?

Catalyst has its own set of administration functions. The Catalyst Administration Experience (CAE) is accessed by logging into the front-end, user experience website. But to activate CAE, the administrator account in EPIC must be synced to the admin role on Catalyst.

And this message is saying that link has not been established.

How to Fix the “Catalyst user is not Synced” message

This is very easy, actually, but it is not very obvious. Although the message is displayed on the Manage Users screen under the Manage Your Account menu, that’s not where we go to fix it.

Instead, go to the Personal Options menu and choose My Personal Settings. This screen can be a tad confusing, because of the way it works. Start by clicking on the dropdown by “Select a function to perform”. Choose the last selection, “Synchronize my EPIC and Catalyst users”.

Once you do that, you might see an orange panel explaining why you would want to do this, but the important thing is to complete the two empty fields: Catalyst email and Catalyst Password. Enter those two items and click the “Sync Users” button.

That's all it takes.

And then what?

You will see a message that says you have been synced, but that’s it. Nothing magical happens, although you will find that the red message is gone from the Manage Users screen–at least for you. The other EPIC Administrators on your account will have to sync their own accounts in EPIC, using the instructions above.

When the admin features launch, which should be later in 2024, you will have instant, full access to the new functionality.

And we'll help!

We will be on top of the launch and we will be sure and bring you all the resources you need to take advantage of these new features.